What's new
What's new

In need of a new chuck fast!

Simmssg

Plastic
Hey all I’m sure this info is here some where but I can’t find it.... I need a need 3 jaw chuck for my 1935 9c,
I am a watchmaker but when it comes to vintage American lathes I am a noob.... I’d like to stay under $300 but I can spend more if I have to.
It needs to be new I don’t have time to referb.

And if it’s on amazon all the better!!!Thanks for your help!!!

Some more info would help. What type of mount? Assuming threaded but size and pitch? What size 3 jaw? Do you want the quality of a $300 chuck or is that your Mac and you’d prefer something cheaper and Chinese?

Hey all I’m sure this info is here some where but I can’t find it.... I need a need 3 jaw chuck for my 1935 9c,
I am a watchmaker but when it comes to vintage American lathes I am a noob.... I’d like to stay under $300 but I can spend more if I have to.
It needs to be new I don’t have time to referb.

And if it’s on amazon all the better!!!Thanks for your help!!!

3-Jaws need to be "right" or are even more worthless than usual. I have owed exactly ONE, nearly 60 years, and that only by accident. It was on a lathe when I bought it.

Suggest you cut the budget on OTHER things and get a REALLY WELL MADE 3-Jaw.

As to "value for money", I like ToS Svitavy. Most things as good or better cost more. Usually a LOT more! ToS make very good manual chucks. MSC is not the only distributor.

Most of the old-line top-end makers that still survive (Rohm, Schunk...) have ceased or deprecated making manuals and moved-over to the larger market and greater revenue of POWER operated chucks for CNC spindles. Other firms failed at that and are simply "gone". That's why GOOD manual chucks are harder to find than they once were.