What's new
What's new

Need new motor for my Southbend Modle C 9"

azitizz

Plastic
Motor started smoking and turning very slowly. Windings must be shot. Appears to be the original motor. Its so beat up and oily and theres no nameplate on it anymore.

I'm not sure where to start on searching for a replacement. Its currently a 120V. I'm able to switch directions and other than that, I'm still a beginner at this. So not sure what to look for.
Any help or suggestions would be great!
Thanks.

Does your motor have a 2-step pulley? If so then look for a motor with the same size shaft so the pulley will swap over.

Then look for motors with the same frame size. Then find one in the configuration/hp you desire.

Now would be a good time to go 3-phase.

Does your motor have a 2-step pulley? If so then look for a motor with the same size shaft so the pulley will swap over.

Then look for motors with the same frame size. Then find one in the configuration/hp you desire.

Now would be a good time to go 3-phase.

It only has a single small pulley. looks like 1/4 shaft. What I was more wondering was if there were some limits to HP I should look out for.

I Imagine I wouldn't want something so heavy duty it will tear apart components, and not too light duty (as it is now, probably because its in bad shape)

Whats the benefit to going 3ph ? I would need a drive for it then wouldnt I?

Anyone know the specs of the original motor?
Thanks

Go to your local scrap yard, any single phase 120/240V motor, capacitor start, maybe capacitor run, 1750 rpm, in the 1/2 to 1 hp range should work. Bonus if shaft fits your existing pulley, but pulleys are cheap. Some motors are not reversible, that is usually indicated on tag. The reason some like the 3ph motors is because you get to use a vee f'd dee, lots of pretty lights and you don't have to get your hands dirty doing that oh so cumbersome changing belt thing.