What's new
What's new

New to the board, new to me 9 junior and new to machining

bigblock61

Plastic
Hi all,

I recently picked up a south bend 9 junior lathe for a great price. I'm cleaning it up and making it work again. I'm new to this so there is a lot lo learning for me. That's one of the reasons I joined this site. I'm hoping to learn about my lathe and how to make things.

A little about myself. I was a Master Mechanic for 25 years before deciding to become a Network Engineer. I am currently restoring and modifying a 1969 Dodge Coronet. when it's done it will have a Dana 60 rear end, 6 speed manual trans out of a Viper, and a 512 cubic inch engine with a six pack intake. I say all of this to let you know that I am comfortable as a fabricator and builder. My ex father in law was a machinist for a steel mill and first got me interested in creating parts.

The one thing Id like to be able to do is cut threads with this lathe. Unfortunately it didn't come with the change gears. I've been looking online for the gears but not sure what I need. The chart on the gear cover references a stud gear and a screw gear. I figure that the screw gear is the one attached to the lead screw. The stud gear must be the one mounted on a stud attached to the banjo. This is a double gear at 81/18. Do I need to look for other double gears and in what sizes? Like a 32/ 18 or maybe an 81/32. I cant seem to find any information on the change gears for this particular lathe. Can anyone here help?

John

John,

Welcome to the group. I was just wondering if you had bought some stock in BP or Shell. ;o)

You and I are in the same boat WRT lathes. I just finished the paint job on mine and posted photos.

A very kind gentleman on the forum sold his set of thread gears to me and you may find others who have the set.

I have worked Grizzly tools for about 25 years and like them for the price and the general quality. But now that I am using this South Bend, I see there is no comparison.