What's new
What's new

New guy with new lathe

brovoechoseirra

Plastic
Hello,

New guy here with a new lathe and a couple of questions. Sorry if this is a repeat question.. Its probably been covered to death in the past..
I am in the early stages of getting a South Bend 16 x 60 8117 C lathe. Its a done deal, except for the moving..
We went and did the final look around last night with my Buddy that is a tool and die maker by trade. This Lathe seemed to me like a win-win deal, but you never know. So now that it has his approval, the search for answers begins, and of course the move to my shop, one of these days.
The major stumbling block is the motor. The original is long gone, and there are two motors that are both off, of the machine. Neither one is usable or the correct style, and worse than that they are three phase.
I am wanting to purchase a new motor, in single phase, that hope fully can be wired to be reversible. So from what I can tell the original... long gone motor was 1.5 hp, and I am thinking about a 2 HP or maybe 3 HP motor to replace it. I am wanting to do this right the first time, so I have a finished product that has enough power.
So since I have no clue what the frame type is or even for sure what the speed was. Probably 1725 RPM, but not sure?
Can anyone recommend a bolt on motor, that will get me what I need? Or at least tell me the RPM and Frame type? The shaft size for the pulley is 1 1/8.

I case any one is wondering about the details of this Lathe.. The Lathe is old, and has been out of service for a long time.
What has saved it from a sure death is the inoperative motor. It has been sitting in the back corner of a welding shop this way for 20 plus years.. Is filthy, and covered with grit from grinders, but it has never ran, so a clean up should fix this.