What's new
What's new

New to me SB 10L screaming at me while parting

bikesandcars

Plastic
I thought a good introductory job for the South bend would be trying the parting tool on a piece of black steel pipe.

Everything seems to be running smooth and within spec.

When I try to use the parting tool the lathe screams at me.

I have a very untrained ear for machine tools.

I'm still very new to machining and this is my first lathe so any advice is appreciated.

https://youtu.be/ZRpGkouxRcI

Sent from my moto z3 using Tapatalk

Nice lathe! Some things I noticed.

I don't hear your back gears so you are probably going too fast. Try around 80-125 RPM to start.
Once you are slow enough you can be more confident to use the cross feed to let the machine do the work. It is preferred and smoother. I usually use 64 threads per inch setting or maybe more if the material is hard.
You'll want to use some cutting fluid.

Some things I couldn't tell
Is the material suitable for this operation? Try the operation with some free machining steel like 12L14, 8620 or some easy aluminum like 2011, etc.
What does your cutter look like? Is it sharp? I usually touch mine up with a stone before use.
Is your cutter on center? That is critical with parting.

Good luck, parting seems like it would be easy right? lol Truth be told a hack saw and clean up cut using lathe is way faster! Still I usually part a portion of the way through the material and then use a power hack saw and clean up after on machine...

Thanks Kevin T!

I obviously have a lot to learn. I ordered "how to run a lathe". Being handy but inexperienced, I have a feel for what to do but I have no concept for speeds and feed rates yet. I basically know enough to get myself in trouble but not to know why I'm in trouble.

I had centered the parting tool on the middle of the tail stock. I just made the AXA tee-nut on my Bridgeport and mounted it so everything there is tight including a brand new HSS parting tool.