What's new
What's new

New to me South Bend Lathe

Bigtalljv

Plastic
Hi,

First let me say I have no experience with lathes, I’ve never owned one and never used one, however, I just recently picked one up from a coworker. It’s a late ‘40s, serial number 174xxx. I guess they changed serial number format in early 1948. The story is it was my coworker’s wife’s grandfather’s (did you follow that?) surplused from his naval station posting in California. I’ve been cleaning it with super fine steel wool and WD40 and it’s looks really good under the grime and light rust. I’m familiar with the basic function but I also got three crates of accessories, many of which I have no idea what they were for. I’ll post some pictures.

So the big question is where to get a replacement drive belt. It’s looks like there a many many places but I didn’t know if there was a goto source?

Thanks
Jason

0F1952F5-CA32-4CA1-8671-751508D13944.jpg1CFD01DF-D496-4235-AA18-4DFC67318897.jpg

For the fabric type belt like you see in this link:

SOUTH BEND,ATLAS,LOGAN DRIVE FLAT BELT 3/16" X 1.75" CUSTOM CUT,LATHE, Mill etc | eBay

I like to use Baltimore belting. Call them on the phone to place the order, and have your sizes on hand 3/16" thick, width, and length:
Baltimore Belting – 766 E 25th St, Baltimore, MD 21218 (410) 338-1230

Some other fellas here like a leather belt, they might chime in for that.

Know your adjustment range, and I would order toward the short side of adjustment to allow for a little belt stretch. If ordered too short though, need another belt, cutting it a 2nd time won't help. :D

Take it easy with the steel wool unless on a non machined surface non critical surface. I see you can upload pictures that is good. So now lets see a lot more of them. Pictures of the ID plate if there is one and every angle you can grab of the machine. Looks like you have a taper attachment and some other goodies! Nice.