What's new
What's new

Newbie to Lathes, gifted a 1937 South Bend Workshop 9''

BDogg464

Plastic
As the title says, I have no previous lathe experience. So i guess this is not a bad situation to utilize to get my feet wet and start understanding everything.
That being said, im no dummy, and not new to machinery or heavy tools. Just never got the opportunity to be around many to learn on or mess with.

My good buddy/co-worker came to me a few weeks back and asked me if i possibly wanted a lathe. I said i'll take it good sir! (Also got a 1970 Wellsaw 58B horizontal bandsaw!!)
Anyways like i always seem to do, it started with just cleaning it up, then just take it apart, then paint it, then replace parts, etc, etc.
So that's kinda where i am at now, half thru the process of tearing everything down as far as i can, cleaning it, and painting if it gets paint.
I did not remove the feet from the bed, but everything else came off, cleaned/scrubbed-cleaned/scrubbed-cleaned/scrubbed, then dried off and painted.
The headstock has been total broke down, cleaned, and the casting repainted waiting on parts to be cleaned inspected and put back in.
I ordered the felt replacement kit online that also comes with the oils. And ordered new bearings for the spindle and got the pin bearings for the tension-er nut.
I had to get a few spare parts online to replace some gears with broken teeth, so now im in the never ending world of soaking parts and cleaning.
I have already gone thru all the chucks and such the came with the lathe in the tool drawer on the stand. They seem internally to not have alot of wear but were full of chips.
All i really have left is all the stuff i pulled off the bed and headstock, and i havn't touched the tailstock yet. All other gears have all ready been cleaned.