What's new
What's new

Old South Bend Lathe Questions

sandkassel

Plastic
Hello!

Recently, my father and I acquired a South Bend lathe.

60356290_10156314602641676_2300769106648891392_n.jpg

A little background about myself, I am an engineering student with a year of being on an SAE team under my belt. I love working in the shops at school, and after coming home for the summer, I decided machinery was not something I could live without. I've made various parts for my SAE team on a few different Clausing lathes, as well as Bridgeports and Acers.

We haven't been able to correctly identify what we have yet, but we did find a serial number. We ordered our serial number card on Grizzly's website, and are waiting to hear back. The number is 19230.

The lathe will need some work. First, some general cleanup and cleaning out the rust. Next, we will need to complete whatever the past owner was trying to accomplish with his pulley system. Then, we will need to fit new leather belts or automotive belts.

Now, for my questions. First, has anyone ever seen a lathe like this? We have been doing as much reading as we can over the last few days but have found very little information.

Second, I would like to upgrade the lantern/rocker style tool post to a quick change. I understand that there are different sizes, but why would we need to get a large expensive tool post if a smaller more economical one fits? The largest thing we will turn will be brake rotors, the rest of our projects will be much smaller. The swing measured to be 24", and a post that size is big money. If we do need a QCTP that large, we will probably just use what we have for now.