What's new
What's new

Please dont beat me up !

yachtsmanbill

Aluminum
I just joined here yesterday and have a few questions about a SB 9 that I acquired a few weeks ago. Please bear with me as I tend to ramble on at times!

I spent 30 years as a maintenance machinist at a power plant in Chicago and our machines were strictly manual pre and post WWII stuff... American Pacemaker and LeBlond lathes, Gemco shaper, and a 8 foot column Cincinnati-Bickford radial drill to name a few. I was a fairly competent machinist and made a lot of one off parts. So I retired in 2005 and started playing with Model T fords (again) and really needed a lathe... fast forward to last week.

I found a good looking but beat up SB 9 for $300. Its clean and painted but has a few issues that need to be addressd and Id sure appreciate some input. I do post lots of pics so we'll see if that helps...

I also just had major shoulder reconstruction so I am unable to do much more than look things over for now, but a few things to note: First is a broken back gear bearing housing on the headstock. Did this occur from the previous owner (PO) trying to hold back with the back gear to remove the chuck? Seems to be an issue amongst SB owners and this guy now has a 6 jaw independant that needs to go! Id gladly trade that for a decent 3 jaw universal to get this machine on the road again...

The other bigger machines I ran always had 2 lead screws... one for feeds, and one for threads changed with a tumbler at the gear box. The SB has a single screw, but is missing the thread indicator dial. It was replaced with a factory made (?) knurled knob that Im guessing is a plug to keep the hole clean. Ideas? Theres also a micrometer carriage stop that I see no need for, at least for any operations Id be doing. Whats that really for?

Heres the machine ID: Ser # 25 955 NAR 9 Model A Cat SB CL 744 3 chart 1

9 X 3-1/2 bed