What's new
What's new

Pre-1910 Non Serial number 16” 6’ bed. Valuation?

Abreunig

Plastic
I just picked up a South Bend Lathe 16” 6’ bed. It has a 1 3/4 leather belt, on 1 3/4” pullys. It’s old. I have a ton of gears and attachments that obviously were purchased with or around the same time as the machine. Looking for possible paperwork that could help me further identify. Trying to figure out what it’s worth, it’s way too big for my projects. Lol thanks for any input

Pics will be needed....don't be put off if you can't get them to post right away....you are being robo-vetted...once the robot determines you are a real person you will be allowed to post pics.

I say this only halfway kidding..:skep:

Yes I am trying to figure that part out. Lol this is my first time on any forum... any idea on what I should focus the pictures on to help identify any slight differences?

Really just a good clear shot from the front showing the whole machine should be enough to identify it.

Other pics just for accessories.

I included a pic of the top front right bed rail just behind the V some minor scrapes and dings but no serial

I polished that area by hand and it looks too unorganized (like someone was using it to pound on something) they aren’t lined up or numerical looking they look like a few 1/4” round strikes. Also the other odd difference is the leather belt and pullys are 1 3/4” where most the serialized machines were 1, 11/2, or 2” Grizzley (who took all SBL records when they sold)has no record of a 1.75”

You know what... I think that is exactly the machine. The accessories are everything that is pictured below the lathe that we’re included with the machine. It’s in pretty good shape, even has the gear cover on the end.. that’s pretty awesome to see it in its original advertisement. Obviously it could use some love.. but overall it’s in great shape