What's new
What's new

Red Lead

Ben A Gonna

Plastic
While closing down a welding and machine shop I found in the original container about 50 lbs of red lead.
A while back I remember some one was searching for this type of material. If some one has a need , and or use for it, let me know. I am not good at putting pictures on here, however I will attempt to.
Thanks.
Ben a Gonna

Attachments

• thumbnail.jpg  red lead1.jpg
    thumbnail.jpg red lead1.jpg
    89.7 KB · Views: 164
I would sign up for a cup's worth :). Just looked it up, it is about 4.77 LBs/Cup so it would be quite costly to ship, also it is a hazmat of a kind so a sealed container is a must. PM me if you up for a deal, I can Paypal the shipping cost

dee
;-D

How about some of you old timers tell us young bucks how you'll use the material? I am curious.

Red lead and white lead are both excellent extreme pressure lubricants and were (are still) used to lubricate the point of dead centers at the tailstock. The little pocket on the tailstock casting was used as a reservoir for a small amount of red lead and a little wooden dauber was kept in the pocket to be used to apply a small amount to the tip of the dead center and/or the center hole drilled in the end of the stock being supported. The little dauber was probably the first item to be lost from a South Bend lathe. It was (maybe still is) also used as an indicator to show gear tooth contact during adjustment of gear mesh such as ring and pinion gear sets.

It still works very well as a dead center lube although with the number of extreme pressure lubricants available today it might not really be necessary to use it. The stuff is still available at good art supply stores. I bought a can of white lead just a couple of years ago. It's probably a lifetime supply--at least for me!