What's new
What's new

SB 9A Horizontal Drive Unit Pulley Shaft Heavily Scored

mbouchpcp

Plastic
Oil was leaking from the collar side of the pulley shaft housing (the one with the 10 inch pulley driven by the belt running to the motor part # AS1960N3).

I pulled the shaft. I discovered the unit does not have bronze bearings and that the pulley shaft is heavily scored for 2.5 inches from the pulley inward.

I have little if any mechanical experience and am new to turning metal. That being said should I:

a. just replace the felt wick and reinstall the scored shaf (with the understanding that drive units without bearings eat shafts)
b. turn a new shaft and install it with new felt wicks
c. bore out the shaft housing, insert a thin bronze busing, turn a new shaft, and reassemble everything
d. other

I understand C is probably the "correct" answer but is that overkill?

Thanks.

Might sound weird but if it was still working well, and only leaking oil then just keep adding oil, it may eventually fail, or it may last just fine, even if it does fail the repair will still be the same so it's essentially no loss either way.

In the meantime develop your skills so when and if the time comes you can make a proper repair.( which would be your C option, only just buy TGP shafting to size instead of turning it yourself)

If the bore is badly scored all the way through, you may need to consider bushing it, but I just took mine to a machinist, who said what iwananew10k said. Mine was scored on the ends of the right-side bore, but it was good in the middle. I replaced the shaft with a new TGP 1045 shaft from McMaster-Carr. Cost me a whopping $12 and change. Keep using the old shaft while you trim and finish ends of the new shaft, drill the dimple for the step pulley, and you're good. By the way, getting the old drive pulley off was a bear. Those taper pins are tough sometimes. Use a big hammer and the right size punch.