What's new
What's new

Soutbend 2-H rest/carriage question

70chall440

Aluminum
Let me say up front that I am very new to machining/turning, so please be tear me up too fast. I have a SB 2-H (16" swing with a turret). This lathe has a straight T slot carriage and I am investigating how to thread on the machine. I notice that most lathes have compound rests and I think pretty much every video I have watched on threading shows using a compound. I have searched for a compound for my machine but have not found anything specific to a 2-H or 16" SB. My questions are;

1. do I need a compound? I am sure I could thread without one, however it does seem a lot harder w/o one.
2. where would I get a compound?
3. Are there other models that are compatible? I have found quite a few 9" and 10" bases on eBay, but not a lot of the actual compound (top).

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Get a 16" cross slide and its compound rest from the same serial range - or learn to thread straight in - which is some what tough - depending on coarseness of thread

That would be good if I could find one. I guess I thought about trying to make something but haven't thought about it all that much.

I have a 2H like you. I havent tried threading with it yet though. I did however pick up a regular toolroom type compound rest off ebay a couple years back, and they do pop up from time time. I still use the original as it suites most of my personal needs. You could also keep your eye out for a complete taper attachment, which the compound would do the same as the regular type.