What's new
What's new

South Bend 11" for beginner

Maverick302

Aluminum
Hello all, I am looking into getting my first lathe for my home shop. I have some very basic training/experience running a manual lathe (mostly a 13" JET, and mostly with collets on smaller work). That being said, I want to outfit my shop with a general purpose lathe for various fabrication projects, fixing/replacing motorcycle and tractor parts, and generally just being able to open up the capability to turn parts instead of working around or purchasing them.

I found an 11" South Bend near me, seems to be in good shape, but the rarity of the machine (and lack of availability of tooling and parts) and the odd spindle thread has me concerned. According to the ad, it comes with a 6" Cushmen chuck (worn jaws), Threading Gears, Steady Rest, and face plates. Asking price is $700. Would this be a good machine for a beginner, or would it likely end up being a headache to learn on due to the lack of a used market for accessories and tooling? I don't think I would drop the money for quality new components, at least not in the near future.
00f0f_eAp0YZr3Loc_1200x900.jpg
01515_15FI70IMO65_1200x900.jpg

Just to add some detail:

I'm not going to wait around and spend months waiting for a perfect deal. In fact, I'm willing to overspend if it's a good machine and I don't have to drive 2 states to get it. That being said, I'd like to come in under $1000, maybe more if it comes with a lot of goodies.

This is a big bed. While I do have the room for it, I also value open space. The advice I've read here and elsewhere generally points towards "buy the biggest you can afford/fit", but with a 7/8" spindle bore, this is mostly just big in the sense that it has a long bed. Being my first lathe, I frankly don't know if the big bed is worth the extra space to me, or if I'm giving up too much footprint to still end up with a small bore.