Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast
    Country
    UNITED STATES
    State/Province
    Ohio
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

I’m still using the SB16 as that’s the only lathe I’ve got!

I’m far far from a professional machinist, I don’t know about Tex but I’m a hobbyist myself, Tex is a cool Kat and he’s definitely been around the block more then I have by a long shot.

I just really love the old southbends, personally I would rather a south bend lathe over a monarch 10EE, after all you wouldn’t give a hillbilly a rolls Royce Would you!? Haha.

The more advanced/cutting edge machines are too far above my abilities that they would go unused for the most part, I bought my mill and lathe for my automotive projects and a gun build here and there.

Before long I was (and still am) addicted to building my machine shop capabilities.

I don’t use the machines to turn a buck, I do occasionally shoehorn a profitable use into my day job using the machines but never have I made direct profit off the machines themselves.

I have a 12” adjust-tru buck 6 jaw scroll chuck that I can remove 3 jaws to use as a 3 jaw scroll, I’ve also bought an imported 12” 4 jaw independent chuck that I have no complaints against.

I forget to mention; a seen a fellow PM member told you about brazing carbide onto shanks to use as tooling?

I tried to go that route and the black flux and braze was VERY COST PROHIBITIVE for me, maybe a professional could make it work but for a hobby guy to use on some tooling here and there was not worth it, so look up “what to use” and “where to find it” and “minimum order size” before going down that route yourself.

This is one addictive hobby but hey, isn't the best things in life addictive in general!?

And as for your memory,

When your young you soak things up like a new sponge.

When your old that sponge gets hard/dry, it doesn’t soak things up as fast as it used to but it will soon enough.