What's new
What's new

South Bend 13" mechanical restoration

Sugarkryptonite

Plastic
Hi guys,

I'm a beginner to the machining world. Grew up watching my dad working on his SB13, mills, welders, etc. My dad had this lathe sitting around as a spare for his SB13 in the corner of our shop. I asked one day if I could restore it and he said sure. This will be a slow process, and definitely not a full restoration as some of the other people on here have done, maybe more of a "functional" restoration.

Started by doing some vacuuming and quick degreasing of some parts, as well as removing the old motor and installing a new old stock Baldor:

y0AUATU.jpg

ffQgyzV.jpg

13CnFgS.jpg

Removed the old GE DC motor

hLUuVwT.jpg

New Baldor motor with pulley adapter mounted and ready to go

0rlm542.jpg

Mounted in the lathe:

h4cgPc0.jpg

ao1FLHX.jpg

And first quick test cut with the machine after sitting for many many many years:

wwAwqtn.jpg

And finally here's a video of the first time it spun in years:

Wow, a DC motor on it. Old school variable speed, probably using something to the tune of an SCR or a variac and a rectifier. Looks like a nice machine. Much wear on the ways? I'd make sure all the bearing surfaces get cleaned out and the felts get replaced before running it for too long.

Sounds like the countershaft bearings are making the same sort of grinding sound that mine are off and on. They're the only ones I didn't replace when I had mine apart because that V-belt pulley is such a pain. Now I'm kicking myself for it. Some day when it starts to really bother me I'll take the whole underneath motor drive apart again and fix it the rest of the way.

Not sure I understand removing a big DC motor unless something was wrong with it. Perfect set-up for PWM DC motor speed control which would rival any 3 phase with VFD. You took out the most expensive part of a variable speed system!