What's new
What's new

South Bend 13 price?

TLoud

Plastic
Found a South Bend 13 by me that has a VFD and looks to be in great shape. The guy is asking $1900 for it. This is his description:
"South bend 13” lathe. Has a VFD drive that plugs into any 120v outlet. Stainless hardware. Newer felts and Gits oil cups. Back gear reduction is not installed because the vfd allows the spindle to go down to 0 rpm- but I have the parts for it. Any questions- please ask. Cash only. " This is my first time looking at buying a lathe. Does this seem like a fair price? What should I be looking for? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

00t0t_kvylx9d2lxZz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
00u0u_gAXxhPL4H97z_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
00f0f_5qqe6c2V80fz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
00u0u_aW29jrs9rgdz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg
00000_13M9MrrHGhpz_0CI0t2_600x450.jpg

Looks pretty nice,

Look for any heavy wear on the wayes, on the bottom of the tail stock, play in the cross feed and compound. Look for any broken gear teeth. Good luck!

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Real old with that 2 TPI on the QC gear box - like 85 years

Means small spindle bore and 1 7/8 - 8 spindle nose, so no 5C collets without investing in a collet chuck

1 7/8 - 8 spindle nose just makes it harder to acquire additional spindle tooling - like chucks

Depends on the tooling included. Also, just because the VFD can go down to 0 RPM doesn't mean that it will have the torque to do anything useful. The back gears are just torque multipliers. And what hardware is "stainless"?

No GITS oiler for the spindle, factory hardware looks to have been replaced with cap screws, the threading plate is off of a newer machine as are the crossfeed and compound dials.

It is possible that the machine was rebuilt in the not to distant past. But to what? Rattle can and new hardware or rescraping and refitting? Asking price might be reasonable if it is more than rattle can and with tooling. If just what is pictured, I wouldn't pay it.