What's new
What's new

South Bend 9" Pre-C Spindle and Spindle Bearing Galled/Scored

MasaAMD

Plastic
Hello all!
This is my first time posting. I recently acquired an early C version SB9 that was in great condition overall. Every piece until the spindle and headstock bearings has only needed minor cleaning. This is my first South Bend lathe and I can see why these lathes are so sought after. It has been a great learning experience so far but I am at a point where I would like to consult others opinions on this issue.

This lathe has the cast iron bearing surfaces that have been badly galled, resulting in damage to the spindle bearings surfaces as well. I stoned a small portion of the spindle, but I am apprehensive of going any further until I have other opinions. Also, I am seeing mixed results on honing the headstocl bearings and using stones in general due to loading.

Here are pictures of the damaged bearing surfaces:

wmylPkp.jpg

lOnF1Ya.jpg

oqCTnxk.jpg

4y7KDm5.jpg

kHLX1Wf.jpg

Also, here is a little more info if helpful:

The serial number is 66212, and 120S6S is cast into the inside of the bed near the tailstock. There is no catalog no. on the nameplate only the swing (9") and bed length (3 1/2'). It also has a soft 1-1/2"-8 spindle, normal right hand lead screw and top mounted oilers.

Just in case the spindle is not worth saving (spindle taper is damaged as well), I also picked up a good condition one from a later year 9".

there may be a slight diff in spindle length...what type thrust bearing do you have?

chances are if you just clean it up good,set clearance and oil it will be fine....had ones that looked as bad or worse that still did fine work.

ps- leave the headstock bores alone, there may be adhered cast iron deposits on the spindle- that can be removed carefully, but leave the bores be.