What's new
What's new

South Bend 9x36 Information Wanted

rivetdriver

Plastic
Let me start by saying that I'm new to metal-working and have been hunting around for a lathe with which to get started. I've repeatedly found a lathe for sale, wanted to research it, and almost always have hit posts on Practical Machinist with great information. So, clearly, I had to join the site so I could even better benefit from the amazing amount of information you guys have and so generously share.

On to my question ... there is a local seller of a lathe described as a South Bend 9x36 benchtop lathe. It is nicely painted (which worries me a little, honestly) and the assertion is that it was restored in 2005.

I asked for, and got from the seller, a serial number and wonder if anyone can give me more information about the lathe based on that. The serial is :

30790NAR9

A rough idea of value (yeah, I know it depends upon tooling included along with other factors) would be helpful as well as "gotchas" to watch for with this particular make/model of lathe. If that isn't enough for someone to better enlighten me ... no worries. Thanks, in advance, for any insights you might be able to share.

-- Dwight

There are three kinds of paint jobs - really nice that looks almost like the factory (this is a very good sign, but why is he selling it if he spent that much time on it); OK, done when cleaning and restoring (you gotta do something after cleaning all the crud off); the one where they overspray the ways, the bench, and god knows what. The third one is bad; the other two are probably alright.

Value depends on condition, market, and tooling. A 9A x 36, with only a 3 jaw chuck, a live center, and a tool post, is worth about $650 in good condition in Pittsburgh. In New York, it's maybe $550. In Omaha, maybe $1250. If you add a thread dial, a 4 jaw chuck, a milling attachment, collets, a taper attachment, and a quick-change tool post, raise everything by around $1000.