What's new
What's new

South Bend Drill Press - Please Help

rednet

Plastic
Dear Friends,
Please forgive me my ignorance but I am just a beginner in the field of woodworking and came across South Bend Drill Press.
I was told this drill press may be somewhat of a collectible item and although I want a good working tool, it makes it even better if it is good old American made tool.

The owner wants $400 for the press. Since I know very little about it, can someone please advise if this is a reasonable offer?
I apologize in advance for posting this here but I would really appreciate if someone can help a newbie.

Thank you in advance and best regards.

George.

DrillPress.jpg

seems a bit steep for a basic floor standing drill press, but maybe the name adds value? I would put it at around $200, particularly in your neck of the woods, but I'm no expert.

Thank you for your reply. As I have no idea how much those things go for, any advice is very much appreciated.

Yes, being made by SB adds "collectible" value. There were several US makers of drill presses that were not SB, but as you point out, being a "good old American made tool" adds cost to any of them, but probably not to the degree that SB does.

I think that it may have the multi-speed attachment on it. In my opinion that would increase the value. Hopefully someone more knowledgable will be along to comment.

The price seems high, but most sellers start high expecting lower offers. It's a bit rusty, which is not a problem, but may be a negotiating point.
There is a decent size Palmgen vice sitting on the base. That is probably worth at least $50. If that is included it makes the price a bit better.