What's new
What's new

South Bend Model A 9” x 3’ Replacement Chuck

XP_Slinger

Plastic
Hello All,

Finally registered after trolling your forum for a while, hoping y’all can help me out.

I’m going to look at a South Bend Model A 9” x 3’ this morning. I’m new to doing my own machine work but a friend of mine has a similar lathe so I have a good idea of what to look closely at.

The lathe comes with a 3 jaw chuck, but I’m going to need a 4 jaw also. The seller claims he has one but hasn’t been able to find it. So my question is...where can I find a new or used 4 jaw chuck for this machine if the seller can’t locate it? I’ve done a lot of searching on the web that hasn’t yielded any good parts sources for this old lathe.

The machine appears to be in excellent condition and I’m hoping I can source a chuck elsewhere.

Thanks to all who can provide some guidance.

Edit: I just found the South Bend section. Mods, if this question would be better suited to that section please feel free to move it there.

Last edited:
ebay. maybe buy a backing plate to match and plain back chuck to suit.
Bill D.

Thanks for your response. Does it have to be south bend brand or are there dimensions I can adhere to and use a different brand? I’ve found info that my lathe chuck has 1.5 x 8 threads. Other than diameter is thread pitch all I need to match up? Thanks

Thanks for your response. Does it have to be south bend brand or are there dimensions I can adhere to and use a different brand? I’ve found info that my lathe chuck has 1.5 x 8 threads. Other than diameter is thread pitch all I need to match up? Thanks

Most lathe makers did not make chucks, though some lathe makers did have their name put on the chucks they sold. So no, it does not have to say South Bend on a chuck that will work fine on a South Bend lathe.