What's new
What's new

Southbend 9 A - zero torque except on back gears! Can hardly run a 19 thou cut

Savedbygrace77

Aluminum
Hi all - so ive been familiarizing myself on the southbend since I picked it up 2 years ago.. ive learned alot but am still super green..

Embarrassingly ive noticed I am unable to make a cut without using the back gears - ive disabled the gearbox, everything is lubed and oiled- without back gears I cant even dream of even a 5 thou light cut unless I feed in pulses to give the chuck time to speed up- its beyond pitiful..

Ive tried the 2 slower speeds on the belt, ive cleaned the pulleys and currently using a ribbed v-belt I sewed to length.. I can hear the motor just laboring with the slightest of cuts / feed-

Is there a way to test the motor? Could I put new brushes in and check the armature? Weak magnets?

Option 2 is buy a late style servo motor and convert (with digital rpm and control knob) -

Thoughts?

Im sure this lathe is quite capable but Im pretty sure the motor is way under performing-

fwiw - im turning alu and steel anything from 2 inches thick to 8" wide spacers, I basically have to use back gears ALL the time to get anything out of it-

this is the current motor plate - I guess i should remove it and go through it? My friend rewinds motors and works on them-

southbend-9a-motor-plate.jpg

What horsepower motor are you currently using? I'd go with 3/4 to 1 myself. I put a 1-3/4HP motor on my unmentionable lathe about 30 years ago, according to posts on here that should have wrecked it, strangely its still working.

If you can get it rewound at friend pricing it might be worth it, but your still stuck with 1/2hp. Is there a run capacitor? If so maybe its time for a new one.

The question IS what motor is on there now ? Would be very unlikely your current motor has either brushes or magnets. 1hp motor is a bit big as SB's are limited by the flat belt for power transmission even with your ribbed belt.