What's new
What's new

Tail Stock Alignment Help

KBenoit1

Aluminum
Hi Guys,

I got this replacement tail stock since my machine didnt come with a factory one. Probably should have checked this before i stripped and painted it.

The vertical alignment to the spindle is way off. I was expecting a few thou and would need some shim stock, but this is way more than that. None of the parts of the tail stock look like they are worn or modified/machined to make it sit lower.

Any advice on what to do here ?

Attachments

• 20191125_192610.jpg
    20191125_192610.jpg
    80.1 KB · Views: 248
  • 20191125_192546.jpg
    20191125_192546.jpg
    89 KB · Views: 244
I'm no expert on SB's, so perhaps there's better solutions, but if that tailstock is otherwise good (tight fit to spindle, parallel to bed), I'd shim it the .2" or whatever and be done with it.

3/32" is quite a lot. What does the droop of the tailstock look like?

It looks like you have an older workshop model C. Compare the dimensions of your lathe to those in this picture:
SB Tooling Dimensions.jpg

Take a good look at the head stock to be sure it is not shimmed up, flat and square, set clean on the bed.

Yes now see it is a 32s scale, thought it was 1/16s (the reason for mentioning .200)

3/32" is quite a lot. What does the droop of the tailstock look like?

It looks like you have an older workshop model C. Compare the dimensions of your lathe to those in this picture:
View attachment 271060

I will get some measurements later tonight. The lathe the tailstock came off of was from the same year.

What should be the distance from the ways to the center on the tail stock ?

Yes i knew that was what you meant..just thought I would add it.
Buck

looks like a decent lathe but missing the half nut.

what do you mean missing half nut ?