What's new
What's new

Tool post recommendations

mwill135

Aluminum
Looking for quick change tool post. As a beginner I'm not going expensive. Any reasonably priced entry level brands you folks recommend?

There are two types of holders - wedge and piston. I believe that the wedge is more repeatable. I've got a Phase II wedge type QCTP that I really like. It cost me about $160 and included 5 holders. The holders are AXA size. You can pick them up on sale for about $12 each.

This is basically what I put on my machine.

I’m happy with my Dorian AXA post. It resides now on my Heavy Ten. I also used it on my SB 10k. Dorians are more expensive but are high quality, American made posts. Holders are $100+ each but are made from 4142 Pre Heat steel.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

13355d725b8c23fec5b74ad8c09b4fdf.jpg

88b18de8c69794d37453c837f58abdc6.jpg

6b43f5057823ca66ec573f36ea15a663.jpg

A few pics of my post and holders. You can see there in very minimal wear on the body of the tool holder.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I have 3 Phase II AXA wedge-type tool posts for various 9" and 10" lathes. The AXA is the proper size for those lathes. The only negative feature I can come up with is the set screws used in the tool holders are not the finest quality steel and are a bit soft but it's really easy to replace them with something better because they're all a standard size.

There are two types of holders - wedge and piston. I believe that the wedge is more repeatable. I've got a Phase II wedge type QCTP that I really like. It cost me about $160 and included 5 holders. The holders are AXA size. You can pick them up on sale for about $12 each.