What's new
What's new

Tool posts and tools?

SB1997

Plastic
I'm new to this all. Tooling, tool posts and shit all confuse the hell out of me and i really need some help.
I have a miss 60's south bend 13. I'm looking for a drill chuck that goes in the tailstock i think. I am trying to find tool holders, I'm getting i think an aloris quick change post from my old boss and have absolutely no idea where to go from there.
Please help! Thank you

I'm new to this all. Tooling, tool posts and shit all confuse the hell out of me and i really need some help.
I have a miss 60's south bend 13. I'm looking for a drill chuck that goes in the tailstock i think. I am trying to find tool holders, I'm getting i think an aloris quick change post from my old boss and have absolutely no idea where to go from there.
Please help! Thank you

PDF pages about 17 or 18 from 1967 will tell you the tail stock has a #3 Morse taper which you will need to know

http://www.wswells.com/data/catalog/1967_Cat_No.6801/1967_Cat_No.6801.pdf

As to Aloris - they come in sizes - and you need a size suited to your 13". A gift of a big one (like CA or DA) from the boss isn't going to help you.

All the sizes have their own dedicated tool holder blocks

I think Aloris and knock-offs are the most popular tool post addition to any lathe. If you're getting one for free, great! They take standard holders so you can set up your tool in the holder, then anytime you put holder into the toolpost, it returns to exactly the same place. You'll end up with dozens or more, but the knockoff holders work great with the genuine Aloris tool post so you can save some cash there. The only thing I do with the knockoffs is replace the allen screws with some decent ones from McMaster-Carr.

Here's mine setup for internal threading: