What's new
What's new

VFD Help

coyotechet

Cast Iron
What is the slowest safe speed I can run with a 1750 RPM Baldor motor EM31116 3ph and using a VFD With the slow speed pulley of(304 rpm)? Hoping to get close to 50 RPM with this setup. Have not ordered anything yet.
Just Hoping that I can reduce the 304 rpm to some where close to 50 RPM safely before I start ordering things.
To be installed on my South bend Heavy 10.

Thanks Chet

I routinely run the motor on my machines at half speed. Less than that, and I find that I can stall the motor, etc. Your machine has backgear. That is how you get to 50 RPM spindle speed.

allan

I have been using South Bend Lathes since 1968 (9A,3 of them, 10L, 2 of them and 1, 13) currently only one 9A and one 10L.) I was asking about using a VFD. which I have not used at all. That is why I am asking for help with a VFD.:):)

Chet

You can, and I answered your question to the best of my ability. I think you will have trouble if you try to run your motor at less than half speed, unless you are doing something that does not require much power.

Coyote, the problems that you will possibly see running at very low speed with a VFD are the motor running hotter due to less air flowing over the motor and a reduction of power in the form of torque. Low speed is better achieved by gearing in most cases,and in conjunction with a drive, almost infinitely variable speed can give you a way of fine tuning surface finish. I put one on my 10L a while back and never regretted it . hope this helps. Jim

Not sure what HP motor you're using. But guessing 1 or 1.5hp.

2 speed motors are not as easily found as a single speed, but in that hp range I would think cost not too terrible if you come across one. I want to say an 1800 rpm motor, the low speed would come in about half, say 900rpm. Food for thought I guess.

I have no idea about running a vfd with a 2 speed motor though.