What's new
What's new

What is needed to change to power cross feed

BDogg464

Plastic
I have a 1937 south bend 9 workshop lathe with 4 1/2 foot bed. It does not have power cross feed or quick change gearbox. Im not so concerned about the quick change gearbox, but i would like to have power crossfeed. I have a right hand threaded lead screw, but it does not have the channel down it.

What items would be need to change over my lathe to have power crossfeed?

I recently restored this lathe and posted about it. The only thing i changed on it was the headstock (cast bearing surfaces were shot)

I do not know what parts but im assuming the apron and other parts of the saddle would need changing, but not sure if i need the leadscrew with the channel for power crossfeed.

Im new to lathes and appreciate any input people can share.

LatheRemodel.jpg

"Geared" apron - easily recognized with its clutch knob in bottom center - and the lead screw from 9B or 9A with the right length

You might first FIND OUT from folks like SB man (Ted) if such parts actually were made as early as 1937 before you spend a dime.

You could maybe ease things along if you ALSO had the 9B or 9A saddle and cross slide screw - but don't ASSUME somebody else's saddle will fit just right on your bed

Last edited:
You're easiest and probably cheapest route is to get a lathe that does have those.

In reality, power longitudinal cuts are more useful and improve the look of work more. Power crossfeed is more secondary, and is easier to run by hand and have work nice. This lathe could still be useful in a variety of ways, but I'd have it as back up to a more full featured lathe. I'd use this one for polishing and more simple tasks.

And if you get to rebuilding a more serious lathe, you want a lathe to help you do that, which this could help. I'd look hard at finding something that fits your particular goals, and go through that the same as you did here.