What's new
What's new

3 Phase Air Compressor - 220v Wiring

omanalansan

Plastic
Hello, Newbie here, I found this forum few months ago, it has helped me a lot with prior projects. But now I’m stumped. I purchased air compressor with a motor that is a 3 phase and has a magnetic starter, I have 220v 10/3 wire going to it. Can I wire this thing up or do I need to purchase a new motor or buy a converter..?

Many thanks in advance
Omanalansan….

FC643747-F155-4B78-BF2C-D7E879A24863.jpg
54E6FF59-42D8-4C87-85B4-F810A1194838.jpg
0366636F-5945-423E-B9F9-D40535DA0ECB.jpg

He wants to know if your supply electricity is 220v single phase or 220v 3 phase. I am going to ASSUME you have plain household 220v 1ph and you want to know if you can run that 3ph motor off it, the short answer is NO, the long answer is yes with a phase converter or VFD.

Do you plan to add other 3ph machines? If so, rotary phase converter is what you need. If just compressor, vfd or swap motor to 1ph, going with vfd is probably cheaper and easier.

Sorry Digger Doug, yes single phase (house)

Dalmatiangirl61 - your awesome thank you. can you recommend a inexpensive VFD? I take it I need to purchase a VFD that can run a 5HP motor?

thank you
-O

I did this on a 10 hp quincy before I got a rotophase.

A simple "starter box" or "Static phase convertor"
from Cedarburg.

This only gives you 3/4 of the nameplate H.P. from
your 3 phase motor, so I replaced the motor pulley
with one smaller by 1/4.

Digger Doug - that was my next question, I'm watching Youtube ChuckE2008, he used a static phase converter. might just go that route. thanks!

I'm running an old ALL ORIGINAL Quincy from the mid 60's here.

You are going to be over the moon with how sweet a compressor runs off a vfd.
I have mine set to ramp up over 10 seconds, which is the minimum to not compromise the lubrication. Also only runs at 47hz, as I found that to be the nicest speed for low vibration\noise.