What's new
What's new

3 phase soft start application

cg285

Stainless
i have a 10hp 3ph platen grinder (used for cyl heads, exh manifolds, etc) bought new 1986. at my present location i am forced to power it from a rotary ph converter (20hp) running current 22-28@
this machine will not start under load at this point. inrush current 170-180@ no load (ie: nothing on the table)
i have no experience with 3phase soft starts and because this machine is required to start under a load i question if a soft start would cure this. anyone have experience with this?

fwiw in other shops it would dim the lights for a couple seconds on start up. don't remember it doing that back when i bought it but then the memory is questionable

i don't believe this is a ph converter issue which is why i didn't post it there

You could change the taps on your motor to a "WYE" configuration and see if that helps.

Correct, it is a common method to start in WYE and switch to delta after it gets going. Some of the big grinders I work on have load meters and on startup they draw almost exactly the same current as running in delta with a full wheel load. Of course, that requires extra switches, normally two contactors interlocked to avoid having both on at once.

Bill

A Wye start won't help you produce any greater torque during start.

The best question is why are you starting a grinder under load...?

Anyway, a 'soft starter' modulates only voltage and is a sort of half-ass good device used to limit the impact of a motor start on the system. It does NOT produce any greater torque...it actually limits torque production by limiting voltage.

What you need is a VFD starter - that will modulate frequency and allow you to produce adequate torque as you come up to speed.