What's new
What's new

5hp 600v compressor on AC tech mc1551

macds

Hot Rolled
Im looking for recommendations to get my old quincy running on a vfd (that I already have).
The reason i want to do this is to reduce the current inrush of the compressor starting up while running my CNC equipment.
Im pretty tight as to the amperage available in the shop, so i'm figuring that a nice ramp up using the actech should keep the current slam to a minimum.

I'm thinking a 24vdc pressure switch to pull in a contactor, that will close\open the remote relay inside the vfd.

Im no circuit designer, so if anyone has any input, it would be appreciated.

Would prefer a fully adjustable, reasonably inexpensive pressure switch\contactor setup to use in a small enclosure.

Thanks!

I'm planning on using one of these. Operates on 12-24V DC. It can be easily setup with any hysteresis I want. It has a internal transistor switch that can pass up to 60mA. I bench tested one with a cut-in/cut-off pressure range of 125/150 PSI with a 24V coil relay. It works great. The back side has a 1/8 NPT connection but you can get other connection variations.

SMC ISE3-1-65-L pressure switch, h/precis, ISE3/ISE3A PRESSURE SWITCH

This is the ISE30-T1-65-L.

DSC_0746.jpg

Reciprocal compressors are problematic for VFDs. You may not be able to achieve the starting current reduction you are looking for without having to ramp it slowly, and if it relies on splash lubrication of a crankshaft, you may end up shortening the life of the bearings.

Does your Quincy have head unloaders ?

IIRC you can restrict how fast the oil come up to actuate them upon start up.

Mine take upwards of 3 seconds after starting.

Does your Quincy have head unloaders ?

IIRC you can restrict how fast the oil come up to actuate them upon start up.

Mine take upwards of 3 seconds after starting.

The pump is an older model 325-7.
Has the geroter pressurized oil system and hydraulic unloaders.