What's new
What's new

Before I pull the trigger (Teco VFD)

agshooter

Plastic
I am looking at these two TECO L510 VFDs.

1st - 1Hp 4.3 amp Teco-Westinghouse, L510-201-H1, 1 HP, Variable Frequency Drive 230 Volt, 1 Phase Input, IP20, at De

2nd - 2hp 7.5 amp Teco-Westinghouse, L510-202-H1, 2 HP, Variable Frequency Drive 230 Volt, 1 Phase Input, IP20, at Dea

I will be using this VFD for a Clausing 5310 lathe with an existing 1954 3 phase motor (0.75 hp; 2 amp at 60 hz).

It is my understanding most say double your hp for the VFD, but what you really should look at is amps. If this is true, I should be good with the 1hp/4.3amp VFD, correct?

Ideally, I'd like to initially hook up the original fwd/off/reverse switch to get the lathe up and running.
In the future, I may set up a set of push button Fwd/Rev/off/jog/potentiometer. I imagine both of these VFDs could do that?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

I am not an expert, but my understanding is that most of these VFDs up to 3HP are already de-rated. So nameplate spec does not have to be doubled for your application. I am running a 1HP Automation Direct VFD on a 1HP 3PH lathe motor. No issues in 6+ years running.

Perhaps the experts will chime in and comment. But I would go with the 1HP unit for your 3/4HP motor.

Best Regards,
Bob

Some have only single phase input and are rated for full power when fed from single phase (obviously).

Some have three phase input but are also rated for full power off single phase - moderately uncommon. Check the listing.

Some have three phase input and need to be derated. This can apply for all sizes, even small ones. Do not assume.

The manufacturer will have documentation.

I am not an expert, but my understanding is that most of these VFDs up to 3HP are already de-rated. So nameplate spec does not have to be doubled for your application. I am running a 1HP Automation Direct VFD on a 1HP 3PH lathe motor. No issues in 6+ years running.