What's new
What's new

Bit off topic electronis help

Froneck

Titanium
I have a Fagor DRO on my ToolMaster Mill. Works great, had it for years. NiCad battery back-up so if Power is lost memory is alive. Often I would leave it on at end of day and if there was power interruption nothing was lost. I actually don't remember if table was moved when power was off it it would detect movement but not important for this discussion. Batteries went bad so I purchased a AAA battery holder, removed the batteries that were soldered in and leaking. Wired in battery holder, inserted batteries and works OK. I was wondering if I were to install a large capacitor it could serve as a Battery. I'm thinking I would have to limit the charge current so if the Cap. is totally discharged I will not burn-up the charging circuit. I'm thinking a resistor large enough to limit current to the same as charge current for 2 NiCad AAA batteries though I forget if they are in series or parallel. The resister will be paralleled with a diode so only charge current is limited. Reason I want to do this is that I'm doing some electrical changes. Power for the light and DRO is supplied via extension cord. My RPC is wired so that no power is applied to the 3 phase line until activated. I purchased a 240/120vac transformer with fused input and output and will mount it in the electrical control section of the ToolmMster. I have a few TVS &Transient Voltage Suppressor) to mount to the transformer output to eliminate any voltage spikes. Therefore when 3 phase is shut down my DRO will not be powered.
Anyone know what the charge current is for AAA NiCad battery?

Can be anything.

Needs to be the load plus charge.

You need to determine if the battery just maintains the memory and nothing else then micro amps of load.

If you can measure this then easy to do.

A "super cap" could maybe fill the need.