What's new
What's new

Bringing service into a shop

Wade C

Stainless
Im still learning, and have been reading and trying to absorb as much as I can... but wanted some additional input from those who have been through it and/or know much more about this stuff than I do.

The scenario: (caution fairly long prelude to the questions at hand)
We are going to likely be signing on a place here next week. Decent place, nice location, girl friend is happy with the house, location, and property... Down side, there isnt a nice shop... so that will be an upcoming project. Currently, there are 3ph poles on the property, and from what I have learned, it wont be that bad cost wise to get 3ph brought in to the shop once we get that far.

There is a "garage" on the property, that by my measurements, will be able to house the Okuma LC10 and Fadal 4020, as well as the couple 3ph manual machines I have.... and leave some working space... though I really hope putting up a shop is a sooner rather than later thing - but its really hard to say.

The place we will put the shop is all but 20-50 feet from the 3ph poles on the property. Depending on "codes" and "rules" we could put the shop as close to the pole as allowed by the easements/utilities. The "garage" is about 150-200 feet north of where the shop would go, and is about 150 feet from the 3ph lines, but the single phase pole is right next to the garage.

I basically have three options, and the bank will be the deciding factor on one of those three.
(keep in mind, Im a small time guy, making my own products and should be able to keep up with demand which ever way I go - just one option equates to a lot more driving and time away from home)