What's new
What's new

brush question on repulsion-start induction-run motor

metalmagpie

Titanium
I know some of you are very knowledgeable about motors. I'm hoping one of you can answer this question off the top of your head. I'm going through a later Century R-I motor. It's got lots of filth and spider webs inside, like usual. It's probably 80 years old. Anyway, it is a 4-pole motor and has 4 brushes. I'm no expert, but I watched several long videos about tearing into such motors and in each case the brushes were independent. Yet on mine, there are two pairs shunted together with wire.

They are wedge-shaped brushes with the sides partly copper clad, although the copper has worn through in several spots. They look a lot like these:

Redirecting to https://store.eurtonelectric.com/brushesfloorequipment196a-1-1-1-2-5.aspx

The motor ran at the seller's house, so it doesn't seem to be a problem. But I want to understand why one repulsion/induction motor has independent brushes and another has two pairs of shunted brushes.

metalmagpie

All the repulsion-start, induction run motors I've seen had brushes that shorted sections of the commutator. Not powered brushes, but ones that just shorted to other brushes.

All repulsion start motors rely on shorted brush pairs. If they're not shorted then it's a traditional brushed motor rather than repulsion start. Could have been that the brushes didn't have shorting wires on them but were instead shorted by the brush holders themselves. I haven't looked that closely at mine yet but I think I recall seeing that the older 'RS' and 'P' frame Centuries use a solid copper/brass brush carriage to achieve this?

It's possible that the brushes on your motor were replaced at one point and the new ones just happened to be sold as shunted pairs.

All the repulsion-start, induction run motors I've seen had brushes that shorted sections of the commutator. Not powered brushes, but ones that just shorted to other brushes.