What's new
What's new

Can a 55kW VFD Replace a 8kW RPC

Jim Kennedy

Aluminum
I have recently got some VFD's, a 55kW Commander, a 45kW Commander, a 30kW Commander and a 30kW ABB.
All 380 to 480v. I have very little VFD installation experience. So with using a single phase isolation transformer to increase 240v to 415v. My motors range up to 5HP and the largest is 7 1/2 HP.
So would the general principal be to set the perameters to the combined motor load.
Just looking for ideas, is it doable, what is the down side. These VFD's cost me very little.

Jim

I have recently got some VFD's, a 55kW Commander, a 45kW Commander, a 30kW Commander and a 30kW ABB.
All 380 to 480v. I have very little VFD installation experience. So with using a single phase isolation transformer to increase 240v to 415v. My motors range up to 5HP and the largest is 7 1/2 HP.
So would the general principal be to set the perameters to the combined motor load.
Just looking for ideas, is it doable, what is the down side. These VFD's cost me very little.

Jim

So basicallly... you are trying to apply a "big enough hammer" of small-enough-money cheap VFD ... to duplicate what a very EXPENSIVE "Phase Perfect" does as to serving as a general purpose shop-wide source of 3-Phase power for -

"bring any combination of loads you happen to feel like switching on"
.. any at given moment of any given day?

It has been done. It CAN work.. after a fashion.

It is an uphill battle.

The design philosophy of a VFD and Phase-Perfect are diametrically OPPOSITE to begin with. That matters. A lot.

- A VFD is a HIGHLY "dynamic" device. It is meant to be "tuned to", then serve a SINGLE load, knowing in advance that load will have highly varying needs - to which it must respond. Dynamically. VERY! "fast" in other words.