Can I Test Old Vacuum Electron Tubes a simple way? - Page 3
Close
Login to Your Account
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Likes (Given)
    Likes (Received)

Quote Originally Posted by JST View Post
    The problem with tv tubes is not being tested for noise, or even being designed for low noise or low microphonics.

Idea sounds good, works out less well.

There is a 6C4 in certain Ampeg SVT bass amps, which causes a noise problem even though it is not in any way high gain. Just never designed for that use. No problem in radio use.
    This hardly seems the place for detailed electronic design discussion and I'm NOT a provocative person but here's a couple of thoughts:

My book describes in detail (including machining the chassis and the cabinet) the design and construction of a compact vacuum tube amplifier with similar performance characteristics to the Fender Bassman, using a pair of TV tubes for the output stage. No microphonic problems, no noise problems. (It's actually quieter than my vintage Bassman.

The tubes in the output stage of any amplifier contribute virtually nothing to amplifier noise, which is primarily established in the preamplifier stage. The main problem is not noise but hum suppression, a function of layout and power supply filtering, not tube design (provided that indirect heated cathodes are employed). Noise is discussed in the book with means of estimating it.

I make no comments whatsoever regarding the use of TV tubes in a preamplifier application. (I suspect however that I could find a number of them that would work just fine.)

I am currently designing an inline preamplifier for accoustic guitar using acorn tubes originally constructed and screened for proximity fuse circuits in artillery projectiles, a tough shock and microphonic environment ! Just happened to see them on eBay and picked them up at a reasonable price. Interesting project with several challenges.