What's new
What's new

Correct voltage input fried VFD?

Sam4886

Plastic
I am pretty new to VFDs. Got my first one in today to put on an old drill press that Im converting to 3 phase so I can use the speed control on the VFD.

Here is my problem... I hooked it up to 120v power, heard a pop, and smoke started rolling out. Voltage verified by meter.

The VFD is a teco westinghouse L510-101-H1-U. 120v single phase input, 1 HP rated. Output is 220v 3 phase.

Motor is 3 phase, 208-220 or 480, 3/4 HP.

I cut a 3 prong extension cord and hooked the ground to ground on the VFD, then the black to the L1(L) and white to L3(N).

What am I doing wrong here? My VFD is smoked so I'll need another one, but some guidance would be great.

What connections did you make on the motor side? Are there any bare wires that could have contacted the case and shorted out on either side (VFD power supply or motor control)?

No bare wires. Connected the motor to the VFD via 3 wires per the directions on the wiring plate. Just went lead 1 to 3 from left to right in the last 3 slots. My understanding was that the order doesn't matter except for rotation direction.

The motor wasnt and isn't grounded. Planned on adding that later after testing.

Did you apply power to the VFD without having the motor connected? How is the VFD mounted? Just to be clear, you hooked the ground wire from the power cord to the ground terminal at the bottom of the unit? Was the VFD used or new?

It was a brand new VFD ordered from MRO supply.

The motor was connected before anything was plugged into power.

The vfd was laying on a bench next to the drill press for testing, the motor is mounted on the DP already.

Yes, the ground was run to the grounding screw. On this VFD, the ground is a couple inches below the rest of the connection points.