What's new
What's new

DC Motor Starter Fried?

ChipChaff

Cast Iron
Hope this belongs here. I have machine that runs on a 5HP 250v DC motor. The person I bought it from was running it on 220 AC using a rectifier. I ran it off and on like that for maybe 100 hours max over a couple of years and didn't touch it for a couple of years after that. I needed to use it so I hooked it up. When I pushed the ON button I heard a mechanical chattering then the motor spun up as it normally did but I saw smoke coming from the starter housing. I shut it off. It's a very old machine and I wonder whether there are components which have deteriorated, like leaky capacitors or some such. The wiring in the box is packed tight and I have zero electrical experience.

The motor itself is a massive work of art and I would like to keep it if at all possible.

Can I just buy a starter for a 5 HP DC motor and hook it up? Is it a mistake to run a 250V motor on 220? Any other advice?

Thanks.

You have provided very little solid information....Some added info might be useful, such as pictures of the innards, data plates, etc.

However

Of course, smoke is a bad sign, but may be due to any number of causes of varying degree of "problem", including insects being roasted, moisture in the box, failures, overloads, dust, etc, etc.

A machine expecting 250V DC will, if loaded to maximum, draw more current at 220V than at 250V, simply because the same power at lower voltage means more current. But motors draw what they need, so at reduced load, the current may be fine.

Starting is a heavy load until the motor gets up to speed, so low voltage can be a factor, and at start, motors already draw excess current as they accelerate. With low voltage, the start may be extended, so excess current is drawn for a longer time.

Not my day - tried to edit my post and deleted it. Try again:

Thanks for the comment. I will pull out what I can and take images of anything interesting.