What's new
What's new

Digital / Rotary phase converters - possible build

robertlaurenson

Plastic
Hi all
I am looking at three phase conversion options for my workshop I have looked at rotary converters, and I have also looked at static and digital conversion options what I'm wondering is does anyone have a digital converter from the only manufacturer that makes them in this country that i know of, drives direct?
If so how well does it work and what is your experience with it?
I'm looking at getting 3 phase from the grid (extremely expensive 45k plus) and also looking at getting a rotary converter with digital phase balance. from the USA.
The other option is the phase perfect unit from the USA also, i have spoken with them and with the 480V split phase supply i have they said their machine will work for my needs.

The only other option I can come up with is to design and build a digital / rotary phase converter on my own, i have a lot of experience in electrics and electronics but cant figure out exactly how the digital phase converter works. The basis of it must be a VSD with Harmonic filter in front, and Sine Wave filter on the output side. And a bank of capacitors on the output of the DC bus to take the start current, also to get a Neutral you would need a Delta to Star tranny on the output side to get the neutral from the star point. But apart from that I'm not sure what else. And those bits alone in no way could justify the cost they charge for them in the UK.
Seeing one would help or any other suggestions.

I have as i say a 480v split single phase supply, which translates into 48kw single phase, so looking at the possibility of a full workshop 50HP converter, it would be right on the limit but would allow me to future proof the workshop incase i end up employing people going forward.

Thanks
Robert

Hi all