What's new
What's new

fitch williams 10 hp converter

levi88

Plastic
hey all,
i mostly am a lurker here , but i need a little help. getting ready to construct a converter per fitch williams 10 hp design, but i been studying this schematic for days, and i do not understand how the start caps are switched out using the switches that are called out in the parts list. it would make sense (to me anyway) if S2 was a momentary contact switch. what am i missing here ? oh by the way, you guys have already been a big help to me, even if you didn't know !
thanks kindly
levi

I have the Fitch Williams 10 hp converter schematic and parts list. I believe there is a mistake in the parts list. The description for S1 and S2 are interchanged. S1 should be the maintened pull on / push off mushroom head switch and S2 should be a momentary switch. I have been building converters for more than 15 years but I use a potential relay to drop the start capacitors from the circuit. I think Fitch's circuit will work fine and I do use his balancing technique. In fact, the last converter I worked on would start without the starting circuit once the phases were balanced. I managed to get the phases to within 3% when operating a motor of the same horsepower as the idler.

toolnut, thank you kindly

Now i can see it, that makes a world of difference. boy do i feel dumb now, that is so simple and right there, talk about not being able to see the forest for the trees ! anyhow I certainly appreciate that. got the motor, contacters,switches and all just got to pickup an enclosure and i'll be set. have a smaller converter (3hp)now , but it has no balancing caps, and i need a bigger converter anyhow.

thanks levi

Where can I get Fitch Williams design and parts list? I have a need to build a 10 hp RPC. Or, dose anyone have a good proven design for a 10 hp converter?

Thanks,

Tom