What's new
What's new

Fuji Frenic mini FRN0047C2S-2U single phase supply amps riddle

Overland

Stainless
I've been using this VFD for about 3 years to run a Mazak 18x80 manual lathe from a single phase supply.
The Mazak has a 7.5 hp motor, so I'm running the VFD, as Fuji recommended based on the max load current of 27 amps with a single phase supply.
The VFD shows a current draw of 7.5 amps (230v) with the spindle running at 400 rpm with no cutting load.
With a 2 mm cut at a roughing feed rate it typically show 9+ amps; so I'm really not putting much load on the machine.

I've just bought an old Colchester 21x80 lathe with a 15 hp motor. Based on my experience with the smaller Mazak I felt I'd be able to use the same VFD and keep an eye on the amps to make sure I didn't overload the VFD.

The Colchester has a clutch to stop/start the spindle whereas the Mazak has direct connection between motor and spindle.

The VFD shows 19 amps (230v) with the Colchester motor idling, and up to 20 amps with the clutch engaged at 400 rpm or so.

I'm trying to understand why the Colchester is showing almost 3x the amps with spindle running, and no cut, compared to the Mazak.

The Colchester spindle turns by hand with some drag.
When the clutch handle is moved to stop, the spindle coasts down suggesting not much drag.
The Colchester motor is 15 hp, whereas the Mazak is 7.5; but that is the potential power, and I doubt there is much difference in load when spindle is idling.
I bought a clip on ammeter yesterday, but it didn't work when tested on a toaster, shoot!

The only thing that worries me is the "new to me" lathe came wired for 400+ volts. This is a European 9 wire motor. So I followed the instructions for 230v. The labeling of the 6 & 9 wires was not clear, so despite my best efforts I may have switched them. I'm not sure whether the motor would run with the possible error or not.