What's new
What's new

Going to look at used American Rotary converter

Andy FitzGibbon

Diamond
I have an email in to American Rotary, but figured I'd ask for opinions here too.

Going to look at a used American Rotary converter tomorrow. According to the tag, the panel is good for 20hp max start and 60hp total load, but the generator is 15KW/50 amps. It seems to me that the generator would be a bit undersized for the panel ratings, but I am far from an expert. What say you all?

Full specs:
Panel (model PCBR-WS-20-WM):
HP: 20
KVa: 19.8
Volts in/out: 240/240
Hz: 60
FLA (3 PHASE): 54
FLA (1 PHASE): 93.4
Max total load (HP/kVa): 60/59.4
Max single load (HP/kVa): 20/19.8
Min single load: N/A
Largest motor start (HP): 20*
*based on light load

Generator:
HP: 15kW
Voltage: 230/460
Amps: 50/25
RPM: 1800

I'm hoping to use this to run several motors in my shop, ranging from 2hp to a 10hp (28 FLA) that's powering my American Pacemaker lathe. It's a one man, light use shop.

Thanks,
Andy

I have an email in to American Rotary, but figured I'd ask for opinions here too.

Going to look at a used American Rotary converter tomorrow. According to the tag, the panel is good for 20hp max start and 60hp total load, but the generator is 15KW/50 amps. It seems to me that the generator would be a bit undersized for the panel ratings, but I am far from an expert. What say you all?

Full specs:
Panel (model PCBR-WS-20-WM):
HP: 20
KVa: 19.8
Volts in/out: 240/240
Hz: 60
FLA (3 PHASE): 54
FLA (1 PHASE): 93.4
Max total load (HP/kVa): 60/59.4
Max single load (HP/kVa): 20/19.8
Min single load: N/A
Largest motor start (HP): 20*
*based on light load

Generator:
HP: 15kW
Voltage: 230/460
Amps: 50/25
RPM: 1800

I'm hoping to use this to run several motors in my shop, ranging from 2hp to a 10hp (28 FLA) that's powering my American Pacemaker lathe. It's a one man, light use shop.

Thanks,
Andy