What's new
What's new

Hardinge esm 59 turret with VFD

Titans2021

Plastic
Hello, first time posting, have enjoyed the information.

I recently purchased a Hardinge esm 59 turret. I have read many posts on how to power this in my garage. Rotary phase, static phase, VFD - great info. But still my question was not answered. This machine has a .75hp 3 phase motor, 1730rpm, 2.4 amps (this is what the tag on the motor says). And also, I am no electrician. If I purchase the appropriately sized VFD , to go from 110v 1 phase to 220v 3 phase, will this machine run normally? That is with the 2 speeds and reverse? Can I control the machine with the levers, and not the VFD? I am taking 1/2 inch diameter platic round stock, drilling a hole in it, and parting to length. I am almost 100% sure I will only ever deal with plastic.

thanks for the help- sorry to beat this horse again

MPriar

I use a rotary phase converter in my shop, so the Hardinge ESM-59 lathe and the TM mill are just wired normally to the OEM input connections. That means the two-speed motors and two drum switches and levers maintain their normal functions.