What's new
What's new

Help with 240V lathe motor. What is this mystery box?

dr_dvice

Plastic
Hello all,

I'm not sure if this is right place to ask this as there is no VFD or phase converter involved but I expect there are many knowledgeable people here who might be able to help.

I have a 240V single phase motor that came with a Schaublin lathe that I am restoring. The motor looks like it has seen better days but I had it running when I received it last year. In the mean time it has been sat in the garage and then gone through a house move.

20210122_233545.jpg

This is the state of the wiring at the moment! I have limited electrical knowledge but I have ascertained that the cylinder is the starting capacitor, and as the motor starts I can assume that this is ok.

My question is the function of the other sealed unit?

20210122_233602.jpg

When I plugged in the motor again after it's ordeals it started running very hot and started smoking after about a minute of running, so I switched it off pretty quickly.

I suspect it might just be that the windings are shot but wanted to find out the function of this black box before I go any further.

Here is the motor plate for reference:

20210122_233735.jpg

Sorry for the rotation issues in the photos, they are the correct orientation on my computer :confused:

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Matt

Without having a clear shot at the wiring my first guess would be some sort of current relay for control of the start winding instead of the usual centrifugal switch. It is common to see such an arrangement on small, cheaply made appliance motors. It's less common with standardized-frame industrial motors but they do exist. Usually in places where a very compact, high power-density motor is required.