What's new
What's new

Help with 3 phase

metalmanbryan

Plastic
Hi, I have very little experience with 3 phase. I hooked up my (new to me) delta model 28 bandsaw, when I plugged it in, the transformer was humming even before I turned on rotary phase converter. I turned converter on and the saw ran fine, I turned off converter and did not unplug saw. I left shop for about an hour, when I returned I smelled burning electric and the transformer was real hot and 1 wire on contactor was real hot. Now saw wont start. Any info would be great! Do not want to replace anything if there is underlying problem. thanks

This is guess is from about 20 feet away but it sounds like when you 'turn off your rotary converter' there is still
power present at the load machine. Be sure the utility legs are being interrupted by your disconnect.

When you turn off the rotary converter, all power to "stuff" should be off on the three phase side.

Clearly for your setup that is not the case. Get that fixed first. If you cannot see the problem, get a decent electrician who DOES understand 3 phase to look over the problem.

Once that is done, then the saw, may be set up for the wrong voltage, or the wrong voltage may get applied die to whatever is wrong with the converter wiring.

About "the transformer". What transformer is that? Is this set up for 480 and you have 230? It sounds as if the transformer is powering the whole saw, wht is that?

As for the saw, there are a lot of "model 28" under different dash numbers. What do you have?

the saw is model 28-633 and yes I think I have power passing to outlet when converter is off I will try to post some pics of component's .

OK, got it.

I assume it runs at 230V, and the transformer is the one mentioned..