What's new
What's new

Help with building a Transformer Phase Converter.

I have a Scuba refill station with a 15 hp 3 phase 208 volt 42 amp motor. I recently purchased and read a book by Unique3Phase on the operation and construction of a transformer based converter.

I'm no electrician but would like to try and construct on of these.

Has anyone here built one and willing to answer some questions I have? I would also love to see some pictures of your transformer converters so I could see a visual of how it all comes together.

Thank you so much for any help. It's very much appreciated.

Jarrett Henderson

I have a Scuba refill station with a 15 hp 3 phase 208 volt 42 amp motor. I recently purchased and read a book by Unique3Phase on the operation and construction of a transformer based converter.

Has anyone here built one and willing to answer some questions I have? I would also love to see some pictures of your transformer converters so I could see a visual of how it all comes together.

Jarrett Henderson

I'm no galactic traveler, either. Not YET, anyway. But would "like to construct" a faster-than-light spaceship drive as well. After all, there's TONS of Sci-Fi books and movies where those are taken for granted, yah?

Ever wonder why NEITHER item is not already settin' on the shelf as ready-to-buy in "the REAL world"?

Some kool-aid ain't yet ready for prime-time, perhaps?

By comparison? Rotary Phase converters JFW. Neither of weird physics nor leaps of faith required.

Guess why they work? The pilot or "idler" motor is functioning as... ta da . a transformer.

Rotary and dynamically coupled one, actually. Can't match the movement's contribution for effective coupling with static goods even at a high multiple of the cost and mass, plus need of greater tolerance for inherently load-unstable "tuning".

Go rotary or go solid-state - load-flexible Phase-Perfect or load-dedicated Vee Effing Dee.

:)