What's new
What's new

How do rotary converters work?

rhoward

Hot Rolled
Well, the title about says it all. I have some electrical background but have not yet found a concise explanation of how a 3 phase motor can create 3 phase power from a single phase input. Lots of stuff out there on how to make a converter though. Can anyone provide an understandable explanation of how this principle works without resorting to calculus or worse? Thanks.

Randy in Everett

This entire forum of Practical Machinist basically discusses how to build or buy and use rotary phase converters and VFDs (variable frequency drives).
You might want to view a schematic I put together for a 30 hp rotary converter on that forum. It is under the thread called "Integrated panel rotary phase converter design", and the document can be viewed by clicking here:

http://www.practicalmachinist.com/phaseconverter.pdf

I'll not go through the whole process of designing a converter, but here's brief synopsis of how they work:

Basically, a rotary phase converter consists of taking a three phase induction motor and running it on single phase power using two legs, and then taking the third leg for three phase off of the running motor stator windings. You end up with the two 'live' legs from single phase 240 volt supply, and the third or 'manufactured' leg comes from the motor windings, where the third leg is generated in the motor windings by magnetic action of the rotating rotor. A rotary phase converter is quite literally a rotating transformer.

You then take these three wires and connect them to a three phase machine motor, which will start and run just as on regular three phase from the power company.