What's new
What's new

How to power 3Ø - 440V motor with 3Ø - 480V

iuctx

Aluminum
I recently installed a step up transformer to convert our 3Ø - 120/208V service to a 3Ø - 277/480V. It works like a charm, our service at the shop runs a little 'hot' ... typically 126/215V. I can adjust the taps on the transformer primary up to that and out comes perfect 277/480V.

However... I just acquired an older Solberga drill that I want to power up. The nameplate says 3Ø - 440V.

Our transformer, set on it's highest primary taps, still leaves us with ~271V-275V on each phase/leg and roughly 471V-475V phase-to-phase. What is the most practical way to lower the voltage to ~440V? Buck and boost? If so, do I need 3ea single phase buck and boost?

Thanks!

I have always heard voltage is + or minus 10% so 440 could go 440 + 44 = 484

I've been running a four speed 1 1/2 HP 440 only motor for 16 years on 480 - seems not to mind at all

Alright! Two people say 'plug it in'. Going once... going twice...

I have read both 'those old motors are bulletproof!' AND 'those old motors were pre-NEMA, so be careful!'

Thanks for your feedback!

475V vs 440V = 108%. The motor will have slightly less efficiency and therefore run hotter, it will also start with higher inrush current and higher starting torque which can have an effect on couplings, bearings etc.

Figure1-PE.jpg

The motor will have less efficiency and therefore run hotter, it will also start harder which can have an effect on couplings, bearings etc.

Figure1-PE.jpg
D'oh!

What would be the proper way to lower the voltage to 440?

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Ok. Any suggestions on make and model? Be honest with me. [emoji16]

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

You will hear crickets because no one else supports anything but "plug it in".... Do it! There is not a concern here!