What's new
What's new

I need some help converting A/C current to D/C current.

gorrilla

Stainless
I was able to scavenge an electric motor from a treadmill. 2.8 HP Treadmill Duty@ 130 VDC. 2.0 HP continuous@115 VDC/1492 Watts.
Unfortunately, the circuitry internal to the treadmill that converted 110 VAC to the 115VDC was already destroyed by the ham handed individual that wrecked out the motor and treadmill. I'm interested in building my own belt sander with this motor. As of yet, I haven't found a means of converting the current in sufficient amperage. At any price. Nobody seems to be interested in doing this. I've checked with Grainger, and a few electrical suppliers on line. No luck. The treadmill circuitry didn't appear to be all that complicated.
Does anybody have any ideas?

I'm no electrical engineer, and I even have a hard time with electrical tape at times.

But AC to DC is incredibly simple.. Its 4 diodes. As far as I can tell 4 diodes hooked
together the right way is called a rectifier.. Radio Shack used to sell one for $5 that
took every bit of 115Vac I could throw at it.

As far as getting proper voltage and speed control, I have NO idea.. But AC to DC is easy.

DC treadmill motor? and you wish to run is from AC? Here's a drink from the fire hose.

Quite simple: find a full wave bridge rectifier. This will start and run your motor at full speed only. AC in and DC out. Pick a rectifier having about 2-3 times the motor name plate Amps. Lots of them on eBay.'

If you wish to vary the speed of the motor, connect a variac to the AC and run the rectifier from the variac's output You can dial he motor to any speed you wish for a mere crawl to full at the turn of the knob.

Here's a page of variacs:

variac variable transformer | eBay

Or use a solid state motor controller. This is a unitized box of tricks that offer smooth running, variable speed, fairly high efficiency, good speed regulation, and some measure of motor protection.