What's new
What's new

Idler motor requirements - Australia 240VAC single phase to 415VAC three phase RPC

callielli

Plastic
Hi guys,

I am in Australia, recently I have purchased my first machine, it's a S1 Bridgeport Vari-speed.

Much like most people who decide to build the RPC, I am tossing up between idler motors.

I'm a robotics engineer so understand electronics however 415VAC is not an area I have spent much time working and this voltage is less-friendly to trial and error for obvious reasons :nono:

To help clarify my decision, I was hoping someone with more knowledge could assist.

1. 3 Phase motor selection.
- Does the idler motor have to be 240/415V wound ie: can I use a 415VAC induction motor like TECO 3 PHASE ELECTRIC MOTOR 5.5 kW 1440RPM - 380/415AC 12.4/11amps 38mm shaft | eBay

I note there is only a delta rating at 380-415VAC.

2. Is there any advantage or disadvantage to running a certain pole count/RPM?

3. What practical numbers to guys look to build to ie: 5.5kW idler will happily power ##kW of downstream power?

:scratchchin:
Thanks for any help!
Callum

Well I dont know metric electric motor specs but I can give you American... 7.5 hp, best if it is 2 pole (3600) 480 volt star (Y)winding to run a 480 rpc, every motor will be a little different as far as the kvar that is need to start and run the rpc...Phil

Hi Callum,
I think $250 for a used 5.5kW 3phase motor is too much. But maybe you live in a remote area and free delivery.If your plan is to build a 415v 3 phase RPC all you need to focus on is 415v input and that at 5.5kW will require connection in Delta.
I think 4 pole 1420 RPM or even a 6 pole would be best. Now, as for what power you can get from a 5.5kW idler well you have not mentioned what transformer arrangement you will be using. Is this for home/hobby use or you may be putting it to work. A lot of people want a RPC to run a lathe, say the lathe is 5HP, if it was for leaning/hobby they would be lucky to use 2HP.